"Intimate and Original": Dvořák's Eighth

This all-Slavic program brings together three works that boast passionate emotions, vivid colors, and consummate compositional mastery. Antonin Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, a perennial audience favorite, is a work aglow with the joys of life. The Philharmonic’s esteemed concertmaster Luke Fitzpatrick joins the orchestra for the U, S premiere of Serbian composer Isidora Žebeljan’s violin concerto Three Curious Loves, a work once affectionately described as a form of “crazy, wild, capricious Balkan dance”. As an opener, we present a little-known symphonic poem by Alexander Glazunov, Spring, a sumptuous and lyrical paean to the season of rebirth.

GLAZUNOV | Spring (A Musical Picture), Op. 34

ŽEBELJAN | Three Curious Loves (U. S. premiere)

Soloist | Luke Fitzpatrick, Violin

DVOŘÁK | Symphony No. 8 in G, Op. 88

2 pm

Benaroya Hall



"The merriest piece I've ever written": Mendelssohn's "Italian" Symphony

As an adventurous and impressionable 21-year-old, Felix Mendelssohn spent ten months in Italy, joyously absorbing its language and culture. The Symphony No. 4, “Italian”, was the musical offspring of this sojourn, and remains the most popular of its composer’s five orchestral symphonies. The concert opens with the overture to the opera Il trionfo della fedeltà by Maria Antonia Walpurgis (1724-1780), a brilliant composer whose music straddles the Baroque and Classical eras, and continues with the U.S. premiere of the Sinfonietta by Lithuanian composer Kristina Vasiliauskaitė, a composition suffused with striking colors and effervescent themes. The concert will also feature a unique Halloween presentation…don’t miss out on the surprise!


Benaroya Hall

Buy Tickets