Seattle Philharmonic Orchestra
“The Play of Sounds”: Tchaikovsky’s Suite No. 2

Buy tickets for “The Play of Sounds”: Tchaikovsky’s Suite No. 2

February 2, 2019 at 2pm | Benaroya Hall

Benaroya Hall

Benaroya Hall houses two performance halls in a complex that is thoroughly integrated into downtown Seattle. Occupying an entire city block at the very core of the city, the development celebrates the vital role of performance events while maintaining the continuity of commercial life along one avenue and providing a much-needed public space, in the form of a terraced garden, along another.

Parking Information is available here.

Get Directions

HAYDNOverture, L'incontro improvviso
HAYDNBerenice, che fai? (Scena di Berenice)
Linda Tsatsanis, soloist
BARRAINEMusique fun├Ębre pour La Mise au tombeau du Titien
Sophie Lippert, soloist
TCHAIKOVSKYOrchestral Suite No. 2 in C, Op. 53

Select your quantity.

type price quantity
Adult $30
Student $20
Seniors (age 65+) $20
Youth (16 and under)* free
Promo Code: have a promo code? enter it here.  

*Youth 16 years and younger are invited to enjoy Phil concerts at no charge when they present this voucher. Concerts may not be appropriate for the very young. Verbalizations from infants and small children disrupt the performance and disturb other patrons.

Seating is general admission. All tickets are held at Will Call unless advanced mailing is requested by emailing

Learn More

Although Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky's four orchestral suites are exemplars of everything that is loved about his music, they still remain relatively unknown to audiences in spite of their great potential appeal. This concert features a rare performance of the Orchestral Suite No. 2, a boistrous, tuneful and joyous work deserving of more popularity. Joseph Haydn is represented by two contrasting works: the rousing overture to his opera L'incontro improvviso, and a tempestuous dramatic "scene", Berenice, che fai?, featuring soprano Linda Tsatsanis. The concert also includes music by French composer Elsa Barraine, whose Symphony No. 2 was given its second U. S. performance during the Philharmonic's 2017-18 season; her Funeral Music for "The Entombment" of Titien will receive its U. S. premiere. The soloist will be pianist Sophie Lippert, a former winner of the Philharmonic's Don Bushell Competition.


Linda Tsatsanis

Sophie Lippert