“Tchaikovsky’s first true masterpiece”: Romeo and Juliet

January 30th, 2021 at 2:00PM | Benaroya Hall

A concert devoted to symphonic masterworks from Russia, with Tchaikovsky’s two most popular overtures as bookends Romeo and Juliet, and the “1812” Overture, dismissed by its composer as
“a very noisy piece” but arguably his most adored composition among today’s music lovers. Russian-born pianist Anastasia Solomatina, a treasured presence in the musical life of Puget
Sound, will be the soloist for Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 1.

TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo and Juliet
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No. 1
Anastasia Solomatina, piano
TCHAIKOVSKY 1812 Overture

Buy Tickets

Adult $35.00 ×
Student $24.00 ×
(Age 65+)
$24.00 ×
(16 and under)*
$0.00 ×
(Optional, tax deductible)
Promo Code

* Youth 16 years and younger are invited to enjoy Phil concerts at no charge when they present this voucher. Concerts may not be appropriate for the very young. Verbalizations from infants and small children disrupt the performance and disturb other patrons.

Seating is general admission. All tickets are held at Will Call unless advanced mailing is requested by emailing